Old web-site

Garingal Interclub Champ

Sydney Olympic Park, Saturday, 7 November 2015 - The NSW Orienteering Awards for 2015 were presented at Sydney Olympic Park on Saturday.   Garingal was honoured with NSW Interclub Competition Trophy for 2015, having obtained the most points amongst the clubs during the State League events.  This is the fourth year in a row Garingal has taken out the trophy.  However, the competition was very strong with Garingal winning by only a narrow margin over  Newcastle and Big Foot.

Another highlight from the NSW awards over the weekend was Ross Barr being awarded course setter of the year.  Ross set the national orienteering league event at UNSW earlier in the year.  The course was set on a new map prepared by Carol Jacobson and the event was a sensation.  Congratulations to Ross for the course setting award and we also congratulate Carol for producing a wonderful map.

Garingal also took out Division 1 in the MetrOleague for the first time in many years, overcoming the incumbent Big Foot team.  The Division 1 team comprised Aidan Dawson, Michele Dawson, Toby Wilson, Istvan Kertez, Peter Annetts, Steve Ryan and up and coming junior Duncan Currie.  Duncan was awarded the NSW Junior of the Year for his contribution to orienteering during 2015.

Finally, we should make mention of our junior elite runners, Aidan Dawson, Toby Wilson and Daniel Hill who finished 1-2-3 in the orienteer of the year awards in the M17-20 division.

Summer Series - Chatswood - thank you to Ted Woodley for organising an entertaining summer series course at Chatwsood last Wednesday.


St Ives Athletes Foot