Old web-site

2018 News

NSW Sprint champs wrap up

Kensington, 29 July:    NSW Sprint

Garingal hosted the NSW Sprint Champs on a surprisingly warm winter's day at UNSW on Sunday - and came away with 5 wins, 10 seconds and 10 thirds.

Our State champions for 2018 are: Aniko Fozo-Kertesz (W35A), Jim Merchant (M70A dead heat), Duncan Currie (M20A), Lloyd Gledhill (M80A) and Robert Herkes (M21AS).

A big thanks to setter Jamie Kennedy, controller Carol Jacobson and organiser Graham Field who had to contend with last-minute Out-Of-Bounds additions on an ever-changing campus. Also, big thanks to the many helpers who ensured a smoothly run event and a quick pack-up.


GO MetrO League wrap up

Lapstone, 22 July:    ML5

(Picture)  It was "Pay Attention!" right from the startline at Darks Common. Matches were won or lost on the route choices to the 1st. control.

Garingal is guaranteed a MetrO League title this year after both Division 4 teams won at Lapstone to seal finals berths.

The unbeaten Monitors beat SHOO-IKO 30-25 while the Molochs, whose only loss was by a point to the Monitors in round 1, thrashed WHO 36-19.   Robert Herkes (Molochs) is leading the individual point scorers in Divn 4.

All 7 other Garingal teams will be in classification matches at Boggabilla on August 26.

Garingal on the Rocks

Yarrowyck, 21-22 April:    BJunghans

Garingal had a successful weekend at the NSW championships in Armidale, taking out nine age classes.

We had five winners in the Middle Champs on Saturday: Tim McConaghy (M12A), Duncan Currie (M20A), Peter Fozo (M35A), Barbara Hill (W50A) and Natalie Grainger (Open Easy).    There were 10 people finishing second and three in third place.

For the Long Champs on Sunday Garingal had four winners: Huon Wilson (M21AS), Carolyn Davies (W55AS), Barbara Junghans (W65AS - on crutches! - Pictured) and Natalie Grainger (Open Easy) again.        Three people finished second and four in third place.

The new maps were brilliant and courses were a true test.     A big thanks to Northern Tablelands and Bush n Beach clubs for a cracking two days.

GOanna's Gone

Galston, 6 May:    ganna

GO junior Andra Leung had a breakthrough win by taking out the GeckO at Galston on Sunday.

Andra is in her first year of Hard courses and won the 3.9km event by a massive 12 minutes over WHO veteran Ian Miller, covering the course in 48:59.

Toby Wilson lost his crown as Goanna champ with a second placing behind Big Foot junior Ewan Shingler in the 6.5km main event.

Iida Lehtonen, whose family is visiting from Finland and have joined Garingal, was an impressive second in the 5.1km DraGOn race.

Thanks to Ian Jessup for another wacky format that has minds bending right from the start.

Orienteering Australia award for Junghans

    Service awards announced at Easter:    Junghans Pres Award

   Congratulations to Garingal couple Ron and Barbara Junghans, who won the prestigious Silva Award for Services to Orienteering.

   The Duffys Forest residents have been at the heart of all things O for close on 40 years.   This lifelong dedication culminated in Barbara organising last year's Australian championships at Bathurst and Hill End.

The Junghans also took out the ONSW President's Award in 2017 (pictured).


Moonlight Madness 2018

St Ives Athletes Foot